FON Shapes His Govt., Swears-in 35 Commissioners, CoS, DCoS, Others

With the inauguration of 35 Commissioners, Chief of Staff and Deputy Chief of Staff, the new administration in Ebonyi State has fully taken shape.

Governor Francis Ogbonna Nwifuru (FON) on Tuesday June 20 swore-in the new commissioners alongside the CoS, Professor Emmanuel Echiegu and DCoS, Engr. Timothy Nwachi as well as Senior Special Assistants, Special Assistants and other personal aides.

Nwifuru, who has already signalled his intention to chart a new course of a holistic, pro-people governance, invited the inaugurated appointees to team up with him to take Ebonyi to greater height.

He pointed out that the appointments he has made were not based on political patronage but on what the individuals were bringing to the table in terms of qualifications and their personal capacities.

This is evidenced by the number of academics, technocrats and professionals that the new governor has assembled to serve in his administration.

“As you all know, this is a call to serve. While I congratulate you, I implore you to take your duties seriously and I say it clearly, the appointments are not for political patronage,” he said.

Nwifuru told his appointees that he would not brook ineptitude in the course of discharging their duties, warning them that if found wanting, “you are leaving the next minute and I can never call you back”.

Gov. Nwifuru: Any appointee found wanting would be thrown out.

“Our State is very charged, waiting for our leadership style and we must show them what we have for them and show them that we have the capacity to deliver,” the turbo-charged governor added.

While thanking Ebonyians for their patience with his administration, the governor reiterated that he would hit the ground running to deliver on his campaign promises.

The appointees got the strong message as confirmed by the CoS, Prof Echiegu, who spoke on their behalf at the inauguration.

While he thanked Governor Nwifuru for finding them worthy to serve in the new administration, Echiegu assured him of their readiness to work hard and justify the confidence reposed in them.

Here are the names of the Commissioners and their portfolios:

1. Engr. Stanley Lebechi Mbam – Works &  Transport
2. Dr. Leonard Uguru – Finance
3. Dr. Matthew Nwobashi – Lands & Survey
4. Prof. Omari Omaka, SAN – Tertiary Education
5. Prof. Nwogo Obasi – Market Devt. & Parks
6. Elijah Okwu Oko Udu – Skill Devt. & Job Creation
7. Prince Etta Uka Ude – Internal Security
8. Hon. Victor Chukwu Uzoma – Environment
9. Jude Chikadibia Okpor – Information & State Orientation
10. Mr. Chidi Onyia – Solid Minerals
11. Oguzor Offia Nwali – Commerce & Industry
12. Mrs. Aligwe Ann – Human Capital Devt.
13. Prof. Paul Awo Nwobashi – Education (Primary & Secondary)
14. Mr. Uchenna Igwe – Local Government & Chieftaincy Matters
15. Dr. Ben Odo Uruchi – Justice (HAG)
16. Stanley Ifeanyi Ogbuewu – Culture & Tourism
17. Dr. Donatus C. Ilang – Boarder Peace & Conflict Resolution
18. Dr. Mrs. Obichukwu Ngozi – Aviation
19. Mrs. Chinwe Okah – Budget and Planning
20. Dr. Moses Ekuma Nnanna – Health
21. Hon. Richard Ugo Idike – Youths and Sports
22. Barr. Mrs. Felicia Nwankpuma – Women Affairs
23. Mr. Chinedu Nkah – Water Resources
24. Engr. Ogbonna A. Obashi -Infrastructure
25. Engr. Francis Ori – Housing & Urban Devt.
26. Princess Nkechinyere lyioku – Agric & Natural Resources
27. Uzor Toochukwu Okorie – ICT
28. Mr. Ogbonna Felix Igboke – Project Monitoring & Evaluation
29. Mr. Ogbonna Okorie – Inter-Party Affairs
30. Hon. Valentine Okike-Uzor – Special Duty
31. Hon. Inyima Sunday – Capital City
32. Hon. Peter Oge Ali – Power & Energy
33. Elechi Elechi – Investment
34. Solomon Azi – Grant & Donor Agencies
35. Barr. Ikeuwa Omebe – Rural Development