Mayors Now in Charge of Abia LGs as Otti Inaugurates Transition Committees

Otti Says He Won't Interfere in Affairs of LGs



Abia governor, Alex Otti, Thursday inaugurated the newly-appointed Transition Committee Chairmen and their deputies for the 17 local governments of the state and charged them to fast-track rural development.

In deviation from the past ptactices, Otti adopted the title of “Mayor” and “Deputy Mayors” for the TC Chairmen and their second in commands, charging them to work for the transformation of the rural communities.

The governor in his speech entitled “Expanding the Frontiers of Development”, explained what required of the new people in charge of affairs of Abia LGs.

He said: “Your primary task as mayors and deputies shall be to make the local communities and towns conducive for active production and rapid growth.

“We expect you to quickly develop holistic frameworks for improving agriculture and light scale production in ways that enhance outputs and attract domestic and foreign investors.”

He told the mayors and their deputies that their appointment was a call to serve and not to be served hence they must work for the interest of the people they serve.

Otti said that though “we do not expect the (mayors) to get everything right on the first day, (they) must be willing to learn, keeping (their) mind open to new ideas and possibilities”.

He assured them that he would not interfere with the running of the LGs, saying that he would give each of the mayors freehand to manage the affairs of the respective councils responsibly.

Gov Otti: Gives Mayors marching orders to promote pwace, devt. in Abia LGs.


The Abia chief executive underlined the need for the council bosses to design their programmes in consonance with the general development philosophy of the present Labour Party administration in the State.

“Your first task as leaders of the various LGAs shall include strengthening the security architecture in the towns and villages within your domain, especially as the yuletide approaches,” he said.

Otti hinted that his administration would do its own bit in engendering development in the rutal areas, saying that governmen is working with multiple stakeholders, including multilateral and donor agencies, global IT companies and local financial institutions.

According to him, such collaborations would help to develop a robust framework for addressing the critical challenges facing the people. He named the challenges to include endemic poverty, restricted access to basic amenities, limited skills for enhanced earning and unequal access to the boundless opportunities of the 21st century global economy.

The Mayors include industrialists, top retired military men and millionaire businessmen cum politicians.

Governor Otti justified the choice he made in appointing, saying, “we need the best hands and heads to drive the development of the state”.

“We are in a hurry to elevate the standards of leadership to accommodate strictly those who have something to offer,” he added.

He thanked the Mayors and their Deputies for accepting to bring their extensive wealth of experience in various fields of human endeavours to bear on the service of their communities as they represent the vanguards of the “New Abia” in the 17 LGAs.

The Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Prince Uzor Nwachukwu, had earlier in his remarks, said that Governor Otti was deliberate in constituting the new set of leaders in the LGs.

He said that it was informed by the governor’s desire and great plans for accelerated development in the grassroots .

A cross-section of of Abia’s 17 new Mayors during their inauguration Nov. 30, 2023.


The new grassroots leaders with only one female Mayor and Deputy Mayor are as follows:

Aba North LGA: Mayor- Ide John Udeagbala
Deputy- Prince Nnaemeka Ogbonna; Aba South LGA, Mayor – Mr. Uchechukwu A. C. Wogu, Deputy- Mrs. Nkiru Ugwu; Arochukwu LGA – Mayor, Chief Joe Eze Aru, Deputy- Mr. Okezie Azuma; Bende LGA, Mayor- Barr. Chijioke Nwankwo, Deputy- Mr. Onyedikachi Iroegbu; Ikwuano LGA, Mayor – Mr. Osinachi Hycinth Nwaka, Deputy- Chief Charles Ugbuajah

Others are: IsialaNgwa North LGA, Mayor- Mr. C. Y. Nwankwo, Deputy- Mr. Uchenna Nwanbuko; IsialaNgwa South LGA:
Mahor – Dr. Elelenta Nwambuisi Elelenta,
Deputy- Mr. Eberechukwu Ahuruonye; Isuikwuato LGA, Mayor – Air Vice Marshal Chinwendu Onyike (rtd), Deputy- Hon. Harrison Onuke; Obingwa LGA: Mayor- Dr. Eric Egwuibe, Deputy- Mr. Chiemela Ekpemu;
Ohafia LGA:Mayor- Chief David Ogba, Deputy- Hon. Mkpa Oju Uka.

Also appointed for Osisioma Ngwa LGA are
Mayor- Engr. Israel Nweke, Deputy- Barr. Young Ngwaziem; Ukwa East LGA: Mayor- Dr. Mrs. Ngozi Nwagbara, Deputy- Chief Onyebuchi Nnah; Ukwa West LGA: Mayor- Mr. Newman Azu, Deputy- Mr. Anele Michael; Ugwunagbo LGA: Mayor- Comrade Nosike Ihesiaba, Deputy- Mr. Nnamdi Kelvin Chijioke; Umuahia North LGA:Mayor- Chief Victor Ikeji, Deputy- Mr. Okechukwu Anthony Amah; Umuahia – South LGA: Mayor- Mr. Obike Ejike Nnochiri, Deputy- Mr. Olendingwa Nwabueze; Umunneochi LGA: +1Mayor- Mr. Ndubuisi Ike, Deputy- Mr. Njoku Augustine C.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.