No Cause for Cheer in S’East as Tinubu Names 48 Ministerial Nominees

S'East Short-changed with Five Constitutionally Mandatory Nominees


With the unveiling of the second batch of his  ministerial list and addition of another name on Friday, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has finally assembled 48 persons that would serve in his cabinet.

Mr. President selected his men and women from across the length and breath of Nigeria.

But there’s no cause for cheer in the South East geopolitical zone because, once again, the zone has been shortchanged.

An analysis of the president’s ministerial spread shows that the South East is the only zone without a zonal representation in the ministerial appointments.

President Tinubu barely accommodated the South East in his cabinet to satisfy the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria which made it mandatory that each of the 36 states and Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory(FCT) must have a minister each.

Now, after complying with the constitutional provision, Tinubu has additional 12 minsisterial slots to allocate because of the size of his cabinet, which of course, was his own making. That is where the zonal allocation of ministers come in.

By virtue of the discrepancies in the creation of states, all the other five zones were already ahead of the South East in the constitutionally mandatory allocation of ministers.

North West, the zone with the largest number of states got seven ministerial slots while North East, North Central, South West and South South received six slots each. The South East were left with five ministers, just to fulfill constitutional righteousness.

Yet, in his distribution of the extra ministerial slots, Tinubu gave additional three ministers each to North West and South West zones, making it a total of 10 and nine ministers for the zones, respectively.

Each of North East North Central   and South South were given two extra ministers, making it a total of eight for each of these favoured zones.

In fact, the South South zone received yet another additional ministerial slot on Friday when the name of the immediate past minister of state for labour, Festus Keyamo, surfaced in Tinubu’s ministerial list.

S’East Governors: Which way for Marginalised zone.


Sadly, the South East is stuck with its five constitutionally mandatory number of ministers. No addition. No zonal representation. Just a paltry 10.4 percent of the 48 names in Tinubu’s prospective ministers.9

In his zonal distribution of his extra ministerial slots Tinubu was obviously persuaded by the number of votes he received in each zone during the 2023 presidential poll.

However, denying the entire South East a share of the zonal ministerial representation cannot be considered a smart political decision on the part of Mr. President.

Though Tinubu did not get the quantum of votes he had expected in the South East, his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC) controls two(Ebonyi and Imo States), out of five states in the zone, representing 40 percent.

That should have provided for Tinubu a source of comfort and renewed hope for high yielding political outing in future. Certainly, not a shabby treatment for a zone with equal stake like others, in the Nigeria project.


NORTH CENTRAL (6 states, 8 ministers)
1. Benue – Joseph Utsev
2. FCT – Zaphaniah Bitrus Jisalo                                                                          3. Kogi – Shuaibu A. Audu

4. Kwara – Lateef Fagbemi                                                                                5.Nasarawa – Imaan S. Ibrahim
6. Niger – Mohammed Idris                                                                                    7. Niger- Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi
8. Plateau – Simon Lalong

NORTH EAST (6 states, 8 ministers)
1. Adamawa – Tahir Mamman
2. Bauchi – Yusuf M. Tuggar
3. Bauchi – Ali Pate                                                                                                4. Borno – Abubakar Kyari
5. Gombe – Alkali Ahmed Saidu
6 Taraba – Uba Maigari Ahmadu
7. Yobe – Ibrahim Geidam
8. Taraba – Sani A. Danladi

NORTH WEST (7 states, 10 ministers)
1. Jigawa – Mohamed Badaru
2. Kaduna – Nasir el-Rufai
3. Kano – Mariya Mahmoud
4. Kano – Abdullahi T. Gwarzo
5. Katsina – Ahmad Dangiwa
6. Katsina – Hanatu Musawa
7. Kebbi – Yusuf Tanko Sununu
8. Kebbi – Atiku Bagudu
9. Sokoto – Bello M. Goronyo
10. Zamfara – Bello Matawalle

SOUTH EAST (5 states, 5 ministers)
1. Abia – Nkiru Onyejiocha
2. Anambra – Uju Ohaneye
3. Ebonyi – David Umahi
4. Enugu – Uche Nnaji
5. Imo – Doris Uzoka

SOUTH SOUTH (6 states, 8 ministers)
1. Akwa Ibom – Ekperikpe Ekpo
2. Bayelsa – Heineken Lokpobri
3. Cross river – Betta Edu
4. Cross River – John Enoh
5. Delta – Stella Okotete
5. Akwa Ibom – Ekperikpe Ekpo
6. Edo – Abubakar Momoh
7. Rivers – Nyesom Wike
8. Festus Keyamo

SOUTH WEST (6 states, 9 ministers)
1. Ekiti – Dele Alake
2. Lagos – Tunji Alausa
3. Lagos – Lola Ade John
4. Ogun – Ishak Salako
5. Ogun – Bosun Tijjani
6. Ogun – Olawale Edun
7. Ondo – Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo
8. Osun – Adegboyega Oyetola
9. Oyo – Adebayo Adelabu


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.